Pathology behind GSW's [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Pathology behind GSW's

CDNGlock
11-22-2007, 22:20
Hey all, Im doing a presentation RE: Pathology Behind Gunshot Injuries.
To fill you in Im currently a Paramedic in Canada and as part of our CME some of us have been asked to make a presentation as a means of educating other medics.
Anyway Im curious to know what you all know about Death as a result of GSW's. Here's what I am battling with. I want to know what is more important in the final cause of death does it have to do with calibre such as bigger hole, more damage OR is it related to velocity of the round. Here's why I am going with velocity. Many of us know energy is represented as joules. So by having greater joules would that result in greater damage to hollow organs? Im on this track becasue much like large explosions tho some people will be killed from shrapnel others may die from the shock wave caused by the explosion due to damage on hollow organs...SO, can the same be said for GSW's?
I would really like to hear all points in this, don't be shy. If you disagree, awsome but please have something to back it up (it makes it easier to believe)

This has also been posted on the PD forum as well.

Thanks.

Glkster19
11-22-2007, 22:52