Applying for EMT-B on ambulance [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Applying for EMT-B on ambulance

MissAmericanPie
01-06-2008, 22:12
Hi Guys,

I am applying for a job with an ambulance service as an EMT-B. I was working at the ski area today (base first aid) and one of our area services arrived before our head trauma patient was being taboggoned down off of the hill. I talked with the EMT for about five minutes and asked him about getting some ride time with them.

He said that they are hiring B's and I's and that I should apply. I explained that I have no real experience (I forgot to mention the rescue since it is so slow!!). He told me to just jot down my experiences at the ski area and that I may be able to do per diem and transfer work to start and that they do hire people with little experience if it is a good candidate.

So, after that lengthy intro. - if I get the job, or for that fact any job when I do get hired, what do I do to be helpful and not be in the way? I'm unclear about that line. We had a serious medical patient in first aid the other day and I called the ambulance since the patient walked in and asked for one right away. He has transposition of the great vessels with a pacemaker and his HR was 225 and not budging.

I was with a ski patroller and we had another patroller who is a doctor on shift who arrived shortly after. When the ambulance arrived, they worked him and they were there for about 15 minutes before transport. I didn't want to get in the way, but I also did want to be helpful so I took notes and got a BP. It was also a great learning experience. When I am on the ambulance, how do I make sure it is known that I am willing to work hard and use my skills without getting in the experienced EMT's way (usually a medic or an I)? Clearly, I do not want to be a liability when the SHTF, but I do want to be an asset.

Thanks for your anticipated brilliant and insightful responses.:supergrin:

D25
01-07-2008, 00:57