Guns at Ft. Irwin [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Guns at Ft. Irwin

deadday
01-12-2008, 09:44
If I wind up out that way, would I be able to have my firearms on post or would the PRK rules apply?

drew

Biscuitsjam
01-12-2008, 12:27
Personally-owned weapons on-post? I really don't know much about the rules for such things, but I think it's usually a no-no. You may be able to deposit the firearms at some kind of arms room while you're on post or something, but I doubt you'd be allowed to retain control. Military installations are federal land and covered by federal law, not state law.

Again, I'm not an expert on such matters, but I'd consider it highly doubtful. In what capacity do you plan to visit Fort Irwin?

fourdeuce2
01-12-2008, 12:59
If you own an AR15, don't bother bringing it. It's against the law to bring it into PRK.:upeyes:

SeriousStudent
01-12-2008, 13:05
I was stationed at Camp Pendleton (California) a long danged time ago. We had to keep everything locked in the unit armory. It was for our safety, and so the armorers could sneak it out to the range and shoot it without our permission.

(Angry rant: Wait until you turn in a personally-owned Colt Python, and draw it back with the front sight blade missing. Someone finally lost two stripes over that.)

My personal recommendation is to call the Provost Marshal's Office, and identify yourself as some anonymous SFC. Ask them.

Here's their phone number:

http://www.irwin.army.mil/Services/Other/MilitaryPolice/

And thank you for your service to our country!

deadday
01-12-2008, 20:10
My personal recommendation is to call the Provost Marshal's Office, and identify yourself as some anonymous SFC. Ask them.

Here's their phone number:

http://www.irwin.army.mil/Services/Other/MilitaryPolice/

And thank you for your service to our country!

I like that idea :rofl: And thank you! God I'm going to miss Texas when I leave....

drew

SeriousStudent
01-12-2008, 23:28