AZ CCW Training Suggestions? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : AZ CCW Training Suggestions?

wyoguy
01-21-2008, 10:35
Hello Everyone:

It looks like I will have to change my user name from "wyoguy" to "azguy" or something - I'll be moving to Phoenix in early February.

I currently have my Wyoming permit and, thankfully, I won't actually be "moving" right away, I will just be traveling to Phoenix for work until our home here in Wyoming sells. So, it looks like I can carry on my Wyoming permit until I become an AZ resident.

In the meantime, I'd like to get my AZ permit squared away, so I don't have a lapse once I am a resident. I'm looking for suggestions on training courses/providers in the West Valley area.

I've been carrying for about 10 years now and I keep my skills sharp and stay current on legal issues, etc. So, an inexpensive course or provider would work for me. However, I am willing to pay a bit more if there is a real benefit, so I am open to suggestions.

Thanks!

Sam Spade
01-21-2008, 11:19
The AZ CCW lesson plan, test and firearms familiarity materials are all mandated by the state. Outside of price, not a whole lot of difference between 95% of the courses out there. Ther'll be differences in setting and personalities, but that can be hard to quantify. You'll find very few people who have experience with more than one provider, so comparing reviews is hard.

If you're looking for the upper 1% of courses, go to www.gunsite.com and look at their CCW offering.

(The other 4% of courses are taught by mall-ninja dweebs. You'll still get the CCW, but it'll hurt. If you go somewhere with a storefront, you'll eliminate a lot of that.)

Long-winded, I know.

OXCOPS
01-22-2008, 08:11