When dud EMS lose its "E"? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : When dud EMS lose its "E"?

aspartz
02-09-2008, 06:30
I've been running EMS for about 10 years. IIRC, the current EMS system was devised by the DOT to deal with TRAUMA. Now it seems tha t it has become a geriatric taxi service. When I started, trauma was about 20% of the call volume, critical medicals were about the same and the remaining 60% were horizontal taxi rides for MC/MA.

In the last year, trauma was at most 5% of the calls, still the same for critical care medicals. In this same period, geriatric taxi rides were better then 80%. I'm not saying that I expect only the "cool" runs, but it seems that the vast majority of calls have become transport of people who should be in a POV. There are patients who have been ill for a number of days and finally just got "tired" of being sick and called 911. Teir condition is no worse than it had been, and in many cases they are alert, oriented and able to ambulate. There is almost always an offspring there who could have driven the parent into the Clinic anytime over the past few days, but insist that they now get EMS, even though the parent refuses any care, sometimes including oxygen.

What put me over the top was our training this month. BART -- Basic Animal Rescue Training. It may be a good cause, but really, isn't there some sort of training that would save humans we could have had?

ARS

Skintop911
02-09-2008, 08:40
Hit the web and do some reading on geriatric services in EMS and the predictions for service demands with our aging baby boomers.

What you're seeing now is only the beginning.

huskerbuttons
02-09-2008, 11:37
I've been in EMS for 19 yrs and I see the same thing. I have found that EMTP now stands for Expensive Medicaid Taxi Provider. It's only going to get worse.

Sucka
02-09-2008, 11:54