KY CCW question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : KY CCW question

TCKDRVR20
02-16-2008, 16:07
Hey guys, i'm a Kentucky resident considering aquiring a CCW permit, in fact i'm going to take the handgun safety class (6hour + range) thats required prior to applying for the permit as soon as my new holster arrives. Question I have is after the trainging course will I have to take another course to get the permit?

Berretta9
02-16-2008, 17:11
Nope, you take and pass the CCW class. In two weeks or so you get a certificate that says you took and passed ( you'd have to be really lame not to pass ) the class. You take that certificate with some more money to the sheriff of you county and in 30 or so days you get a notice that you can pick it up. Are you near Louisville ?

TCKDRVR20
02-16-2008, 23:07
Great. Nah I'm close to Pikeville but the wife & I frequent Louisville.

Hamrhed
02-23-2008, 01:32
Our class was a work group of about 10 folks who took about a 3-4 hour class (instruction/videos/written test), and then some live fire practice before the target test (must hit 13 of 20 shots from about 7 yards)... Our instructor was excellent, and several of our group qualified w/ Highpoint 9mms- I used a G23 :whistling:

Captain38
02-28-2008, 22:46
ACTUALLY, passing is hitting the silhouette a minimum of ELEVEN (11) times out of twenty (20)! Also, you needn't wait for that new holster as all shooting is done with you beginning at a low ready stand-by position with your handgun already in your hand(s).

TCKDRVR20
03-01-2008, 23:23
I just took my class today and did great, I think I missed one question on the written exam and kept all rounds on target despite using crap ammo (umc 230gr ball). I should have my certificate in 10-14 days. A couple people in the class used hi-points and did fine with them, the others used Glocks and I used my Sig P220.

crabpainter
03-02-2008, 14:18