Place to retire? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Place to retire?

APD
03-17-2008, 14:34
Hello ladies and gents.
I am a current LEO and veteran in TX who is looking to possibly settle down in KY when my retirement comes around (not for a decade or so though).

I am looking for places to start looking for land, 5-50 acres in the hills or heavily wooded area somewhat away from polulation.
I will have spent almost 35 years as a cop and soldier so I will be looking for a vacation from people if ya know what I mean.
I am looking at getting land and building a modest house with some acreage and solitude.

Can someone point me in the right direction like which county, etc?

Requirements;
Within 70-80 miles from a reputable hospital and metro area.

Reasonably far from huge population in case things with the economy get VERY worse..not a fan of unwanted guests.

Thanks in advance.

lordjim_2001
03-17-2008, 21:04
Check out the Danville, KY area. An hour to Lexington, there is a good hospital in town. The bad part about it is there there isn't a dedicated gun shop in town. I feel like I'm pimping out my dad but he is a realtor in Danville. PM me if you want his number. There are lots of little farms and acreage in the area for sale.

APD
03-18-2008, 18:51
Thx for the info, keep it coming.

I promise I am a good neighbor.

I do take walks in the woods and like to target shoot.:supergrin:

amr40509
03-19-2008, 06:12
I grew up in a place called Hawesville, in Hancock County Kentucky. It honestly sounds like it is exactly what you are looking for. If you are looking for property there, they have a once a week newspaper called the Hancock Co. Clarion (they have a little web site too) that has all of the property listings in it.

It's a rural community - 30 miles from the mid sized town of Owensboro. 60 miles from Louisville.