"Minesweeper" school [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : "Minesweeper" school

Biscuitsjam
04-23-2008, 10:48
My training NCO is trying to send me to a "minesweeper school" that lasts 2-3 weeks. Does anybody know what this is? All I could find online were references to video games and naval ships.

Sapperstang
04-27-2008, 07:15
I was a combat engineer and have never heard of that school. I did a hell of a lot fo mine sweeping but didn't know there was a specific school. Maybe it is called something else?

pesticidal
04-27-2008, 07:49
http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b200/pesticidal/funny/minesweeper.jpg

Biscuitsjam
04-27-2008, 12:28
I was a combat engineer and have never heard of that school. I did a hell of a lot fo mine sweeping but didn't know there was a specific school. Maybe it is called something else?That's the name my training NCO used over the telephone. I'm guessing they shortened the official name somehow. We're headed to Afghanistan (as cavalry scouts), so I was wondering if it might have something to do with all the minefields over there.

They really wanted to sign me until they saw there was a conflict with another school I'm talking. (that other school has since been rescheduled, but they haven't called me back about this "minesweeper" one)

eisman
05-23-2008, 19:51
Stay away from the minesweeper stuff.

A really good school to have over there is the AF loadmaster school. You can do it, i've sent over a dozen of my guys. You'll end up on the flight line, but it beats a lot of the other jobs. It's a 2 week school too, so it's good for points and college credits.

deadday
05-23-2008, 20:06
My training NCO is trying to send me to a "minesweeper school" that lasts 2-3 weeks. Does anybody know what this is? All I could find online were references to video games and naval ships.

A lot of low-crawling with non-metallic probes....Some training with detection equipment....Long hours of indentification classes, and DEATH BY POWER POINT!!!