Use an ATA HD on a SATA mobo [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Use an ATA HD on a SATA mobo


DeadMansLife
05-09-2008, 18:02
Is it possible to boot from an ATA hdd when the original hdd was SATA?

EDIT TO ADD

Is there a way to dual boot with a SATA and ATA hdd when both have XP?

Razrbk444
05-09-2008, 20:27
As long as both drives have the drivers installed for that particular motherboard you should be fine. Set up boot priority in the bios for a default drive, or you may select drive at prompt.

DeadMansLife
05-09-2008, 20:40
Would like to select a drive at the prompt. Would the needed driver be for the mobo bios?

Razrbk444
05-09-2008, 21:01
In order for a drive to safely boot without errors, in needs the drivers for the m'boards chipset. You can't pull a drive from another machine (if that's what you are doing) and expect it boot unless it came from a machine with the same chipset. It's uaually best to format the drive you've taken from a different machine and install XP fresh. Xp will install a generic driver, but if you have the driver for the specific motherboard (disk, mfg. website, or Windows Update) install it immediately after installing XP.

IndyGunFreak
05-10-2008, 04:18
Is it possible to boot from an ATA hdd when the original hdd was SATA?

EDIT TO ADD

Is there a way to dual boot with a SATA and ATA hdd when both have XP?

Why are you trying to boot two different versions of XP? Are you just trying to get the data off the ATA drive, onto the SATA drive? If so, it might just be easier to get an external enclosure and put the ATA drive in it, get your data, then format it and use it for backup.

IGF

Blitzer
05-10-2008, 04:53
The EIDE-ATA port will be secondary and the SATA primary by default. Why dual boot to the same OS?