How long to write a novel? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How long to write a novel?

Fromtheashes
05-28-2008, 21:38
I am working full time and married but I am starting a book. I found a site that claims that you can write a real novel in 100 days. I am not sure but I am going to try it. I am on day 2 and not even done with the outline/plot of the book. Also I have zero experience in writing like this but I know I love it and I think I am good at it. Highest English class I ever took was in high school but I have 2 REALLY good editors to help me out before it actually goes to a publisher.

Any tips or sites would be great.

Squaw Man Wolfer
05-29-2008, 12:05
Novels and writers vary so much that that is like asking "how high is up?"

Many writers take a year to write a novel, Ken Kesey knocked out "One Flew Over the Cookoo Nest" in three days.

Obviously, some novelists pretty much work out the book in their head before they even start, others struggle line by line.

Just to throw a dart at the board, I suspect it would take a new novelist at least six months.

Scarecrow28
05-29-2008, 17:27
I've taken several MONTHS alone just to plan everything out and am now in the process. Its better to dedicate the time to laying the plot out before hand to prevent the later discovery of problems within the story, discrepancies, ect.

JimBianchi
05-29-2008, 17:55
I've seen that 100 days number before. (For how to books Iíve seen the unrealistic 12 hours! I have no idea how that is possible.)

If you are the subject matter expert about what you are writing about and you have a great work ethic and let some one else do the edit, layout and graphics, then yes, 100 days is very doable.

But most of us need to do character research, fact checking and we edit ourselves to save a few bucks. His slows the process down but saves a whole bunch of money later.