What do you consider a "novel"? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : What do you consider a "novel"?

Scarecrow28
07-02-2008, 08:42
This question really pertains to the length of a novel. I'm finishing the final stages of planning this weeks and plan to write for around an hour per day, aiming for a minimum of 2,000 words per day, if not more. I'm figuring I could stick to this scedule for at least 5, if not 6 or 7, days a week. If I followed 2,000 words a day, 5 times a week I could have around 80,000 words done by the end of August if I start the writing process next Monday. This would only be the rough draft and I believe that the editing process would add on at least 10,000 words. Would you consider this a "novel"? This is my first time attempting to write a full-length book and I wasn't really aware of how long it should be. Thanks!

evomx5
07-05-2008, 22:30
Not that I'm the one to say, but mine is at 46,000 words now and it is halfway through. I'm hoping to have around 100,000 by the time it's done. I consider that to be novel length, myself. So, 80,000 or more should do it but, the more the better.

Scarecrow28
07-06-2008, 10:50
Thanks for the info. Now my only problem is going to be forcing myself to conforming to this daily writing schedule.

evomx5
07-06-2008, 13:52
I wish I could do that. I don't have an outline...I'm just doing it as it comes to me. I have the whole story in my mind, but it's adding all the little stuff in that's hard. Plus, I have a writing partner. I'm doing the story and she's adding all the little details and color to what I write.

Scarecrow28
07-06-2008, 18:26