First Bike? Honda VLX Shadow Deluxe [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : First Bike? Honda VLX Shadow Deluxe

ElectricZombie
07-02-2008, 20:38
I'm thinking about buying my first motorcycle to help ease the strain of my 300 mile a week commute. My truck sucks down gas at an amazing rate. I have been considering a new 2007 600cc Honda VLX Shadow Deluxe.

http://www.cyclemax-superstore.com/new_vehicle_detail.asp?sid=09008295X7K2K2008J9I15I35JPMQ1773R0&veh=37834&pov=745667

The price is $5,099. Is this a decent price? I haven't seen any similiar models locally, so I am unsure if this is reasonable.

Anyone familiar with this particular model? I've been advised that this would be adequate for for a 200lbs rider doing typical highway speeds.

I'm taking the proper motorcycle class in September, but thought that I might go ahead and get the bike early. Any thoughts or safety tips? I'm completely new to motorcycles, and obviously want to approach this in the safest manner possible.

fnfalman
07-03-2008, 08:27
It's a Honda so you can trust that it will run well and reliable. I can't tell you much about the price because I am not familiar with the cruiser market.

As far as safety tips go, I'd suggest that you take the riding course first, get your license and then go bike shopping. You might know by the end of the class what type of motorcycle you would want to own. And if you're a safety conscious person then prepare to invest a good chunk of change (at least $1000 or more) into proper riding gears.

Since that you're going to commute, that means safety AND comfort have to be paramount and that means a $100 helmet is probably not going to cut it, at least not with the comfort factor. So you'd figure anything between $300-600 for a premium helmet.