what's the secret to becoming a fireman [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : what's the secret to becoming a fireman

revel8
07-19-2008, 18:33
hello, i'm interested in firefighting as a career. I took my EMT-B class, I passed the CPAT test last year, is there any good websites out there that list openings by region ? I search and i generally find EMS/Police jobs but rarely fire.

1985 4Runner
07-19-2008, 22:43
Firehouse.com has a forum & job listings, but you have to pay a fee to see current openings.

FiremanMike
07-20-2008, 14:29
When I graduated and had my FF/emt-basic, I opened up the phonebook and called every fire department in it. I asked if they were hiring part-time and or full-time and what the requirements were. Every department that required a FF/emt-basic I went and applied to. I was hired by 2 of them as a part-timer. While this was going on I was checking the paper for civil service tests and I took the only one that was given around that time. I worked the two part-time departments until I was hired at my full-time department. I started working part-time in July 1998, I started full-time January 2001.

pulaskipusher
07-20-2008, 14:39
Get your stripes volunteering, it's alot of work to get a firejob. Volunteering can get you the training and experience you need to get hired on to A fire department.

tbhracing
07-20-2008, 20:20
Visit these sites for more information.

www.eatstress.com
www.aspiringfirefighter.com (look for the two year plan)
www.firecareers.com

I HIGHLY suggest you first figure out where you want to live and then taylor your career to it.

On the West coast, they want Firefighter/Paramedics (FF/PM).

Lastly, I am a Fire Captain with about 20+ years experience, please PM me if you want to chat. Good luck.

revel8
07-20-2008, 21:03