Any opinions on 13F (Forward Observer) [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Any opinions on 13F (Forward Observer)

Biscuitsjam
07-27-2008, 10:25
I'm currently at 19D (Cavalry Scout) MOS school, reclassing from 19K (Armor). I've been doing the cavalry job for a couple years now and I've enjoyed it. However, I've been told that there are a lot of 13F (Forward Observer) slots open within the squadron, and I can reclass if I want.

So, basically, I'll get the choice of going to Afghanistan as a Cavalry Scout or as a Forward Observer.

So, anybody have opinions on the Forward Observer MOS?

I like my job and I like my unit. However, I might have to change units anyway when I get promoted to Sergeant...

ShelbyGoat
07-27-2008, 10:54
last year when I was at Knox for BNCOC they were changing 19K over to Delta's, involuntarily..

Biscuitsjam
07-27-2008, 14:30
Yep, that's what I did. I've been doing the 19D job for two years now, though I'm only now getting to actually go to the MOS school.

I like my unit, I like my job, and I'm good at it. I'll probably stay where I am, BUT... I at least want to know what I'd be giving up here.

tankerfrank
07-30-2008, 23:53
I'm currently at 19D (Cavalry Scout) MOS school, reclassing from 19K (Armor). I've been doing the cavalry job for a couple years now and I've enjoyed it. However, I've been told that there are a lot of 13F (Forward Observer) slots open within the squadron, and I can reclass if I want.

So, basically, I'll get the choice of going to Afghanistan as a Cavalry Scout or as a Forward Observer.

So, anybody have opinions on the Forward Observer MOS?

I like my job and I like my unit. However, I might have to change units anyway when I get promoted to Sergeant...

IMOP You may be safer in cavalry scout in Afghaistan, but on the other hand would the Forward Observer be in aviation, if so I WOULD JUMP AT THAT! but if not who in the hell wants the sit down on a cold Mountain call in bomb drop,