Can you be a certified EMT if....? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Can you be a certified EMT if....?

Somethinzfishy
07-29-2008, 04:08
Hello...
Somethinzfishy here...I am new to the glock board and recently had a glock question answered really quickly that I did not understand and by very friendly guys & gals so if its possible I'll stick my head in here and ask an EMS question if thats alright ??
I'm curious because I've looked into this before but have yet to get a firm answer on a question as it relates to getting into EMS and the like ok so here goes !
If someone is interested in becoming and EMT and then if all goes well....eventually a paramedic...has anyone ever heard of any
insurmountable obstacles to this line of work is someone has a pre-existing medical condition..........lets us for example if someone is an insulin dependent diabetic with an insulin pump ????
Do you guys or gals think its doable or are there too many regulations that prevent it????
I'd really like to know as it relates to the whole diabetes theme ??
Not that I'm a diabetic whos interested in becoming an EMT...
No thats not it really...its not....I swear !

nursetim
07-29-2008, 07:54
I worked with many type I diabetics, no problem. I remember reading about a deaf paramedic years ago. In NC you can even be completely illiterate (someone reads you the material and test), though to be fair, that is just a rumor I have not bothered to substanciate (but it would not suprise me in this PC world we live in).

HarleyArcher
07-29-2008, 08:17