Looking at the IT field in NC- entry level ideas- [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Looking at the IT field in NC- entry level ideas-

filthy infidel
08-02-2008, 14:24
So I found myself in the job market this past week. I've been a mechanic working on high-end cars since '98. I'm thinking of selling all of my tools and going with an IT trainer/job placement school. I've filled out one application on an online job search, but I'd appreciate any advise.

Thanks again,
FI.

Green_Manelishi
08-03-2008, 21:02
So I found myself in the job market this past week. I've been a mechanic working on high-end cars since '98. I'm thinking of selling all of my tools and going with an IT trainer/job placement school. I've filled out one application on an online job search, but I'd appreciate any advise.

Thanks again,
FI.

Ask persons who know you, and know IT, whether or not they believe you have "the stuff" to do that type of work.

It's not rocket surgery but it does require a certain mindset and talent. If you have the mindset and raw talent you can learn the necessary skills, if you don't you won't. You also need to determine if you will pursue hardware or software related IT knowledge such as setup/repair, networking, applications, systems, etc. Each of those requires certain talent and knowledge. You might be reallllly good at one "thing" and not so at another.

Bon chance.

NetNinja
08-04-2008, 20:17
I have been trying to get a friend into IT for the past 10 years and he has been doing the same thing working on cars.

I have about maybe 15 years in IT 10 years professionally.

Be careful about some of those supposedly IT training schools, they love to take your money and have you fill out the student loans.

Don't sell your tools, you will kick yourself for doing it and I don't want to hear stories about I used to own an awesome set of tools. The same story about "Oh I used to have such nice guns but I was dumb and sold them all."
Don't be one of those people.