Can a shotgun take out a bear? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Can a shotgun take out a bear?

ClydeG19
07-15-2002, 19:41
I'm a total novice to shotguns and rifles. I believe my next purchase will be a shotgun. I was wondering if I were to take a shotgun into the wilderness while camping, could I reliably take out a bear with a 12 gauge shotgun? If so, what shot should I use? I was thinking a heavy slug...

What's all this talk about choke. What is it?

Lastly, is the recoil between a 12 and 20 gauge a huge difference?

MrMurphy
07-15-2002, 20:51
The shotgun-vs-bear thing has been debated (sort of like 9mm vs .45) and while I have never shot at a bear, been near a bear in the wild in the last decade, I do know a bunch of guys who've done both, and on here the consensus is yes, if you use a slug, know where you're aiming, and the bear consents to roll over and die. Black bears from what I know are smaller, and a bit easier to kill. Brown bears (Alaskan kind) preferably, run away, fast, leaving a fat friend behind! :) There IS a reason most Alaskan bush pilots carry short barreled large bore rifles, and bears are it!

Personally I think if you have good aim, a good full power slug and are lucky, odds are you'd kill a black bear with a shotgun. Brown bears, I make no claims. I know blacks have been killed with .44 mag pistols, various rifles and shotguns. I'm no expert.

If you DO choose to get a shotgun for camp defense, the Mossberg 500, Remington 870 and Winchester 1300 are the top 3 in the pump-action department (pull trigger BANG pump the foregrip to reload) and the Benelli Nova is catching up (the 870's been around for 50 years, the 500, 42, the 1300, 30+, the Nova's only a couple years old but gaining in popularity)