Windowsa firewall allowing pop-ups?? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Windowsa firewall allowing pop-ups??

Skyhook
08-14-2008, 10:23
I have been running all my internet and email stuff without Windows Firewall (I'd disabled it) and with the protection offered only by my trend micro I have had no problems whatever.... then after downloading a Vista upgrade/patch/whatever, Windows Firewall is *working* and I am open to all kinds of pop-up/ads, etc.

I suppose this is not entirely unique to my system, but thought I'd bounce it off the group here. Windows Firewall has holes I believe.:upeyes:

jeanjvr
08-14-2008, 10:38
A firewall does not block ads or web popups. All its supposed to do is deny\ignore connection attempts to ports on your computer and allow connections out of your computer to ports on other computers.

I have no experience with vista's firewall, but I run XP SP 3's firewall and I have no problems.

1. Disable port 445 tcp traffic and then all ICMP traffic.
2. Limit all aps to local subnet only. File and printer sharing, etc
3. Trim firewall exceptions to bare minimum.

It doesn't block outgoing connections, but I dont need that functionality.

Google "shields up" and go to the grc website. This site will scan your IP remotely and check for security holes. I pass the test with XP's firewall. :supergrin:

kilroy2721
08-18-2008, 05:22
It is probably your IE browser that is letting you get your popups.

Skyhook
08-18-2008, 06:35
It is probably your IE browser that is letting you get your popups.

But...but... I use Firefox.:dunno:

ALSO, there's another really ANNOYING thing "Windows" is doing.. when clicking on a link in the email, I get a 'BONG!' "Windows cannot find *yada*.. whatever the link is/was. Then the link opens :upeyes:

Like getting a stupid dope slap, that 'BONG' crap. I'd sure like to choke that thing.

Skyhook
08-18-2008, 06:36