PHP Help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : PHP Help


Go Sharks
08-26-2008, 17:37
I NEED HELP WITH PHP. I just don't get it. how do you put it in your site.

Specks
08-27-2008, 10:54
If your paying for a web host, usually they have it installed and all you need to do is write up some php and put the files up. Again, usually the host provider has some help documents that should let you know if they have it installed, which version, and how to use it on your site.

If your hosting your own, you'll need to install php on your host and configure the web server (apache, IIS) for php.

Specks
08-27-2008, 11:13
doh!!

David_G17
08-27-2008, 17:56
I have a certification in PHP. I write in it all day long, and I've been doing it for years. I can probably help you with just about anything you'll come across.

If PHP is installed, upload a file with this as it's contents:


<?php
phpinfo();
?>


Name it something like 'test.php', and then view it through a web browser at http://<your domain here>/test.php

If it outputs the code you typed onto the screen, then PHP isn't installed. If it outputs nothing, there's a chance the phpinfo() function has been disabled (not very common). If everything works right, you'll see a multipage list of all the settings in PHP.

It should output something like this: http://images.google.com/images?q=phpinfo