Entry level certifications [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Entry level certifications

silentpoet
09-02-2008, 15:37
I am looking to change careers and was interested in your opinions of A+, Network +, and Microsoft's offerings.

A local college is offering a series of courses (http://www.nwacc.edu/corporateLearning/ComputerHelpDeskITCertifications.php) that would lead to testing for some of the above. I know I could study and maybe pass the A+ certification, but I don't know about the others.

My background is that I have built a couple of systems and I have helped people out with their computer problems. My knowledge and skills in this area are a bit rusty, but I am sure I can get back up to speed fairly quickly.

I am not looking right now at MCSE or CCNA. I just want to get on a better career path than I am right now.

d3athp3nguin
09-02-2008, 21:50
I think A+ is the most well-known entry level IT certification, along with an MCP cert. I don't have any certifications, and I was a psychology major at college- but I've worked in IT at the entry-level since high school (Desktop Support summer internship, helpdesk at the college I went to, now NOC at a datacenter). I'm still trying to find a "niche" in IT, though its a neat field if you like to work in an evolving environment with an evolving set of tools.

Opinions on whether classes/certs are worthwhile or not definitely vary among IT departments. Some IT departments are willing to give someone an opportunity to prove themselves in lieu of experience, while some will expect you to have 5 years of DTS experience and 3 certifications coming into a helpdesk job (though I wouldn't want to work in a place like that). You never know what an IT director is looking for in a new employee; mine told all sorts of stories about hiring a guy who looked good on paper but was a dud on the job. So, a lot of them are willing to take a chance on new people at the entry level.