I need to reinstall IE in Vista. HELP [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I need to reinstall IE in Vista. HELP


Dr. Rod
10-10-2008, 07:11
Has anyone found a way to reinstall IE on Vista 32 bit? It keeps crashing on me. I have tried to reset back to the defaults but so far that didn't work. Any ideas? Google didn't help much.

wbgolden
10-10-2008, 14:57
try the shortcut that launches IE7 with no plug-ins (add-ons)
that you will find in the start menu as below:

Start> All programs> accessories> system tools>
Internet Explorer (No Add-ons)

see if it works better then. if so, we'd just need to figure out which add-on is causing the problem.

the only way i know of to repair IE in vista is to use the vista disk and repair the whole OS (nice thinking, Microsoft).

you're sure it's not spyware? also just out of curiosity, do you use Norton security? there was a recent update that wreaked havoc on IE7!

Dr. Rod
10-12-2008, 09:12
Tried IE with no plug ins and it seems to work OK. So far I haven't had much luck determining which add on it is though. I am using Symantec anti-virus though. So far I don't know of any other people who are having any problems. I wish Microsoft would just let me download and install it again.