Ok, firefox 3 is pissing me off [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ok, firefox 3 is pissing me off


Clyde in CO
10-10-2008, 11:44
I have a desktop and a laptop, and for years I've been using mozbackup to sync the firefox profiles between machines.

Now with the advent of firefox 3, it doesn't work anymore. I get history and bookmark pulldown, but the changes I've made to the bookmarks toolbar folders do not appear.

So what, the new version outgrew the old utility. big deal, I'll just copy the whole profile.

no joy.

I copy the profile folder and profile.ini file from the application data folder to the same location on the laptop, just like the instructions online say and I get the same crap. My bookmark toolbars do not change.

So I move all my toolbar folders back under the main bookmark pulldown and copy again. Still no change.

Then I find this http://www.ghacks.net/2008/06/13/how-to-move-the-bookmarks-in-firefox-3/ site that says ff3 has changed how it deals with bookmarks and I need to use something called junction.

I have no friggin clue what this is or how to use it.

Firefox is supposed to be this great browser, but the difficulty in doing this seemingly simple procedure is really pissing me off.

please help! can somebody give me a walkthru or something? there HAS GOT to be a way to do this.

any help will be greatly appreciated.

end of line

Clyde in CO
10-10-2008, 12:03
great googly moogly I am stupid today.

fixed the problem.... the laptop was still running firefox 2.0

upograded to 3 and it werks perfekt

dance for joy~



http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v93/elhuero/DjenghisKhan-MoskauBreakdance.gif

DrMaxit
10-11-2008, 10:03
http://mirror-us-ga1.gallery.hd.org/_exhibits/bizarre/_more2005/_more10/cat-kitten-with-silly-hat-dancing-animated-1-DHD.gif