Laptop keyboard key came apart... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Laptop keyboard key came apart...

IndyGunFreak
10-10-2008, 14:52
The "E" came off of my laptop keyboard, is there an easy way to put it back on? The key is still 100% functional w/o the plastic covering, its more of an annoyance than anything.

Super glue? I just checked ebay, and a new keyboard is $20 w/ shipping, so if I order a new keyboard, how difficult of a repair is this? Time to do some googlin I guess.. :)

Edit: Hmm, this doesn't look that hard. I'm not that experienced w/ laptops, but I may give this a go...
http://www.delusionofgrandeur.co.uk/2008/07/09/acer-aspire-5315-keyboard-removal/

Thanks

IGF

The Pontificator
10-10-2008, 15:30
duct tape is your friend. :rofl:

IndyGunFreak
10-10-2008, 15:34
duct tape is your friend. :rofl:

Superglue might do the trick, but I'm concerned it might be caustic and do some damage if it gets on something else down there....

I'm gonna try to swap it..

IGF

srhoades
10-10-2008, 16:00
Replacing a keyboard is usually pretty easy. There should be a plastic panel between you keyboard and the LCD hinges. Get a small flathead screwdriver and pop it off. There should be a couple of screws that are holding the keyboard in. Remove those. Then you will have to detach the keyboard ribbon cable. Just reverese the steps with the new keyboard.

If your laptop doesn't have that plastic panel then you have to dissasemble the entire top cover of the laptop in order to access the keyboard. I hate that.

Razrbk444
10-10-2008, 20:13
I'm sure you can handle it. I tore apart my old HP Zv5000 with a P4 because of heat issues. Applied new thermal paste to the cpu/heatsink and hit it with compressed air and worked great afterwords. Just be careful pulling it apart. Screws can hide from you.

IndyGunFreak
10-10-2008, 21:25