XP Service Pack 3 Ok? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : XP Service Pack 3 Ok?

Agent6-3/8
10-17-2008, 18:18
Whats the word on SP3? I hear some complaints about it when it first came out. Is it safe to download now? :dunno:

Squished
10-17-2008, 18:23
It's fine. I work in the IT field and I use it on all my personal computers. No issues.

srhoades
10-17-2008, 21:14
I've installed it on at least 20 systems without a problem.

JMC
10-17-2008, 21:38
When it first came out, there was a problem with HP computers running the factory build. This was because HP saved time by installing the operating system with drivers for both, AMD and Intel, processors. This was in violation of the proper installation of Windows XP. However, it worked fine at the time because Windows XP simply ignored the wrong driver and used the correct one. When SP3 came out, it upgraded the driver, and if you had an HP computer, the driver it upgraded (and now made primary) could be the wrong one. This caused those computers to fail. This is why you heard so much uproar about it when it first came out. It wasn't actually Microsoft's fault.

I've been running it since it was first released and I've had no problems.

Norman
10-17-2008, 21:44
It installed on my system and messed it up. I had to use Windows Recovery to go back in time a week before this thing ate my system and would do nothing but reboot continuously. SP2 is fine by me.

MallNinja4Hire
10-17-2008, 21:56
I tried to install it and got multiple errors.

Doesn't give me much confidence

Blitzer
10-17-2008, 22:03
Appeared to work on my HP/COMPAQ office model PC. ;)

pascal
10-18-2008, 06:32
Seems to be no consenus on it. I'm timid as my son-in-law installed it and crashed. Had to do a complete reinstall of SP2.
rhtwist

Sgt. Schultz
10-18-2008, 09:44