Florida National Guard? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Florida National Guard?

Fire_Medic
10-17-2008, 19:23
I've always wanted to serve, but now with a new baby, wife, and a firefighter civilian job, the best option I see is to join the guard. I wanted to know if there are any guard members out there who could shed some light on how things are. I'm currently a firefighter/paramedic locally here in Miami/Fl. I will be coming in as a medic E-3, but maybe E-4 if I can renew my national EMT license quick enough. I plan on applying for OCS in another year after I have more credits in school. Any contructive thought or ideas are welcomed.

Biscuitsjam
10-18-2008, 08:30
There's lots of discussion about it here if you browse through the forum.

You'll probably be given the options of a 3-year or 6-year National Guard contract. That means that you'll be on drilling status for 3 or 6 years, then in the Inactive Ready Reserve (IRR) for 5 or 2 years, respectively. A portion of soldiers get called back to duty from IRR when there is a shortage of a particular MOS with deploying units.

In the Guard, you'll be obligated to attend "drill" every month at your unit's armory. Most times, drill will be Saturday and Sunday, but you may sometimes have a 3-day or 4-day drill. At drill, you'll have powerpoint classes, hands-on training, admin stuff, and tactical exercises. In most units, it's somewhat hard to get excused from drill.

Once per year, you'll have "annual training" which lasts from 15 to 30 days. At this training, you'll go to a military base instead of your armory, and you should have a very densely-packed training schedule. It is often very difficult to get excused from annual training.