Why is my DSL moving at turtle speed? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Why is my DSL moving at turtle speed?


Agent6-3/8
10-19-2008, 09:17
My internet stopped working Friday. Yesterday, I spent over 2 hours on the phone with Verizon trying to get it working again. Finally got in working an it was fine last night. Today, I fire up the computer and the damned DSL is moving like its dial up.:upeyes:


Any ideas from someone that knows more about computers than I do?

g29andy
10-19-2008, 09:19
Did you recently add a phone or fax machine, without using a DSL filter? Or a home security system?

Agent6-3/8
10-19-2008, 09:23
Did you recently add a phone or fax machine, without using a DSL filter? Or a home security system?


Nope, nothing has changed.

Its got me beat...:dunno:

betyourlife
10-19-2008, 13:56
Are you using a wireless router in addition to the modem?

Agent6-3/8
10-19-2008, 19:17
Hmmm....


I'm not even going to try and explain, but lets just say I ok...at least for now... :headscratch:


Thanks guys! :wavey:

MallNinja4Hire
10-20-2008, 13:05
My internet stopped working Friday. Yesterday, I spent over 2 hours on the phone with Verizon trying to get it working again. Finally got in working an it was fine last night. Today, I fire up the computer and the damned DSL is moving like its dial up.:upeyes:


Any ideas from someone that knows more about computers than I do?Do you have an alarm system installed in your home?

Some systems that send opening & closing reports which I doubt your residential system has unless you requested it specifically can cause havoc on DSL lines I had countless service calls from DSL subscribers when I was installing alarm systems

IndyGunFreak
10-20-2008, 13:25
Do you have an alarm system installed in your home?

Some systems that send opening & closing reports which I doubt your residential system has unless you requested it specifically can cause havoc on DSL lines I had countless service calls from DSL subscribers when I was installing alarm systems

This caused havoc on my sisters DSL also...

Oh well, he says its working now, I'm guessing he's now realizing the server on the animal porn site was just running slow.. :)

Hope it keeps workin for you Agent.

IGF

MallNinja4Hire
10-20-2008, 14:32
I'm guessing he's now realizing the server on the animal porn site was just running slow.. :)


IGF
:rofl:

http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u73/ohiok/funnypictures/kittens/kitty-porn.jpg

g29andy
10-21-2008, 20:26
Do you have an alarm system installed in your home?

Some systems that send opening & closing reports which I doubt your residential system has unless you requested it specifically can cause havoc on DSL lines I had countless service calls from DSL subscribers when I was installing alarm systems

That's why I brought it up. I had to order a filter for my alarm system. It had a different plug than the phone line DSL filters.