A part of me is considering going back in... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : A part of me is considering going back in...

the iceman
11-03-2008, 01:41
I can't help but to think that a part of me died when I left active duty in 2004. Ever since then, life has been rather boring and uneventful. Quite often I consider going back in but there is always someone to talk me out of it.

I would only want to go in as an officer though. I have noticed that there are quite a few officers on here so I thought I would ask. I guess my question here is: what process would I have to go through?

I am 28, served six years in the infantry. I got out and went to college. I now possess a BA and I am in my first semester of grad school working towards an MA. I have come to realize I don't want to be in grad school and there aren't too many jobs that thrill me as much as being a soldier did.

I never took ROTC so would I be able to go back to being an undergrad to do ROTC or would I have to enlist and go to OCS? Could I even be guaranteed OCS?

More than anything I would love to be an infantry officer but I would take what was given to me.

Any insight would be most helpful and appreciated. Thank you!

Fire_Medic
11-03-2008, 17:13
I can't help but to think that a part of me died when I left active duty in 2004. Ever since then, life has been rather boring and uneventful. Quite often I consider going back in but there is always someone to talk me out of it.

I would only want to go in as an officer though. I have noticed that there are quite a few officers on here so I thought I would ask. I guess my question here is: what process would I have to go through?

I am 28, served six years in the infantry. I got out and went to college. I now possess a BA and I am in my first semester of grad school working towards an MA. I have come to realize I don't want to be in grad school and there aren't too many jobs that thrill me as much as being a soldier did.