Are there a lot of enlisted with tech degrees? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Are there a lot of enlisted with tech degrees?

Rocknropes
11-19-2008, 11:06
So, if you haven't seen my previous post on OTS here goes: Im applying to OTS and I was gonna do ROTC as a backup but that fell through. Im still applying to OTS but now for a backup im considering going enlisted. I want to serve, and I was just wondering are there a lot of guys in the enlisted ranks with a tech degree like electrical engineering? I know the enlisted guys do more of the hands on work which I like, but I also would like something that will translate well to the civie world. If I go enlisted I would choose 3E0E1 which is Power . how would I compare to the other enlisted because I have a degree? I know I'd start off right away as an E-3 but are there any other differences that I should know about? thanks .

Ralff
11-19-2008, 14:54
I can't give advice for your other questions but as far as being treated differently, you wouldn't be. You come in automatically with E-3 which anyone with over 20 credit hours gets. Otherwise, the only difference would be a ton of people asking you why the hell you're enlisted. :supergrin:

Rocknropes
11-19-2008, 17:25
I can't give advice for your other questions but as far as being treated differently, you wouldn't be. You come in automatically with E-3 which anyone with over 20 credit hours gets. Otherwise, the only difference would be a ton of people asking you why the hell you're enlisted. :supergrin:

well, I'd only be going enlisted if i wasn't accepted into OTS. i still want to serve, so enlisted wouldn't be that bad of a choice. My recruiter says there are a lot of guys with degrees that go enlisted.

afcop724
11-19-2008, 18:10
...My recruiter says...
:rofl:

CPT_CRUNCH
11-19-2008, 21:33
:rofl:

+1, my recruiter says... heard that one before too.