Army national guard [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Army national guard

the jeff
11-29-2008, 07:59
I have a few general questions.
Iím 22, I have a associates degree and have done a year of ROTC. I would like to enlist. Can I enlist and receive a higher rank upon completion of basic/AIT? How bad will basic suck? In my state they need people in the infantry would this be a good choice? Are there any MOSís in small arms repair only? I would like to work in an armory, which MOS would get me there?

syntaxerrorsix
11-29-2008, 08:19
Iím 22, I have a associates degree and have done a year of ROTC. I would like to enlist. Can I enlist and receive a higher rank upon completion of basic/AIT? How bad will basic suck? In my state they need people in the infantry would this be a good choice? Are there any MOSís in small arms repair only? I would like to work in an armory, which MOS would get me there?

It's possible that you could make SPC/E-4 You will still be required to have time in service and time in grade to be promoted to the next grade unless it is a lateral promotion to CPL. You will also be at the bottom of the list for PLDC (NCO school) and spent a great deal of time in the secondary zone for promotion.

Basic will only suck as bad as you let it. Get in shape and get all the sleep you can in now :)

There are armory shops that work on weapons system beyond the scope of the unit armorer.

You know why they need more Infantry folks right?

All kidding aside Combat Arms MOS's typically promote faster due to lower cut-off scores through E-6.

Combat Arms MOS's also get first pick for school slots typically.

You can always do both and be an 11B unit company armorer but that would considered an additional duty not a job description.

DustyJacket
11-29-2008, 10:18
One year of ROTC doesn't get you much/anything

syntaxerrorsix
11-29-2008, 10:20
One year of ROTC doesn't get you much/anything

A degree does however.

ace3587
11-29-2008, 11:34