Hooking up three gaming consoles to the same tv [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Hooking up three gaming consoles to the same tv


cimpala
12-01-2008, 00:17
i'm not sure if this is the right place for this. i need to find something that will allow me to hook up three gaming consoles to one tv any help would be great thanks

Big Al 24
12-01-2008, 00:29
Would an RF modulator do the trick?

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103095

That's what I would use on older TV's when I needed more than one RCA connection. You may need something that has multiple component connections.

http://www.svideo.com/com3.html

Look at Best Buy or Radioshack.

jilverthor
12-01-2008, 09:53
What you want is a switch of some type it sounds like. Here is a website with some of the models that amazon carries, but they should be available at any of the local electronics stores.

http://www.amazon.com/tag/component%20video%20switch/products/ref=tag_tdp_sv_istp

The other method would be to get a receiver that would let you select the input at that point. The advantage here would be that you would get audio processing better than what is included in the TV and a remote control could change the source. The disadvantage of course is cost. You might want to check Circuit City if there is a store closing in your area, Onkyo makes some very nice receiver/speaker combos that could be picked up for about $200 if they still have any.

solomansousana
12-01-2008, 17:23
The thing is called a video switcher, available at Target for like 20.00. I have a Playstation 2, 3, and Xbox attached to one flat panel. All you need to do is press the appropriate button to choose which console to use.

Nicky D
12-03-2008, 10:07
i'm not sure if this is the right place for this. i need to find something that will allow me to hook up three gaming consoles to one tv any help would be great thanks

What consoles are you hooking up and to what tv? What are the inputs on the back of the tv? Depending on what you have you may be able to connect directly to the tv or you may need a switch as has been recommended. Right now I have my 360, Wii, PS3 and a PC all connected to my tv without any switches, my tv obviously has enough inputs. So alot will depend on your tv.