KINGSTON Quality? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : KINGSTON Quality?


Azra'il
12-01-2008, 17:18
Anyone know if Kingston manufacturer their own product or hire a Chinese sub-contractor?

Anyone know who that sub-contractor is?

Thank you for your inputs!

solomansousana
12-01-2008, 17:25
I use Kingston in my Desktops and Laptops, and install them on desktops that I refurbish, and they all work very well. I've never heard of any problems other than the occasional one that plagues every manufacturer.

IndyGunFreak
12-01-2008, 17:27
Same here, Kingston is one of two brands of Memory I'll use(the other being Crucial).. I usually use Kingston, because its usually available at a decent price at Best Buy. I've used it plenty of times, and I think I've gotten 1 bad DIMM, which oddly enough, was on a build I did about 8mo ago.

Exchanged it w/o issue and everything was good.

IGF

Razrbk444
12-01-2008, 17:33
I put Kingston in all my builds, and never had an issue with them.

solomansousana
12-01-2008, 17:34
Indygunfreek, to your list I would add Corsair. I installed 4, 2gig modules in my Dell Quadcore and it's awesome, very fast and reliable.

DustyJacket
12-01-2008, 17:36
I've always used Kingston and had zero problems.

my company uses special high security Kingston USB drives, again with no issues.

IndyGunFreak
12-01-2008, 18:04
Indygunfreek, to your list I would add Corsair. I installed 4, 2gig modules in my Dell Quadcore and it's awesome, very fast and reliable.

If you've ever saw the numerous build threads here.. I'm a creature of habit, I'm not saying corsair is bad, I'm simply saying I use what I use, because I have experience with it, and I know it works, and works well.

IGF

Big Al 24
12-01-2008, 19:48
Slow and solid here. I have a couple of kingston sticks and they work fine. The difference between 4-4-4-12 and 5-5-5-15 is really felt. My definition of good ram is operating solidly for several days at full load at rated timings. It's nice that Best Buy has now seen fit to carry Corsair, but their overall ram selection is poor and SEVERELY overpriced... Allow me to back up that claim...

Best Buy... $249 on sale @ $149 Wow Big Savings!!!
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8669693&type=product&id=1196470792007

Newegg... $72 on sale @ $52
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145043

I don't know about you guys, but I think that that price difference is INSANE!!! And it is typical of Best Buy's memory selection which is PATHETIC!!!

Go to the Egg, Fry's, TigerDirect, or ZipZoomFly

The only electronic things I buy at Best Buy are large ticket items that I can bring back in to return because it is only a block away and dvd's.

I'm actually going to create a separate post for this one....It's more pathetic than I had thought.

Big Al 24
12-01-2008, 20:02
Try these, smoking deal...

Another thing to remember is that the RAM market fluctuates constantly and there should never be a fixed price...My cousin just got these 2 weeks ago for....drumroll.....

$20 from the egg......

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227267