USB Hub Question [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : USB Hub Question


EagleOne716
12-13-2008, 12:02
Here is the situation:
1. Running a computer under Windows 2000 Pro
2. Have a USB 2.0 card installed
3. Cable running from 2.0 card to a powered USB Port
4. When I run external CD burner...no problem.
5. When I insert a Kingston DataTraveler 2 GB into the powered hub, it says that there is not enough power to run it.
6. If I run any other USB thumb drive..no problems, just the Kingston.
Now....it gets better....
7. I plug a NON-powered USB port into the POWERED port....and the Kingston drive reads/writes with no problem.
THIS JUST DOES NOT MAKE SENSE....
Any suggestions????? Ideas????
Thanks...EAGLE :wavey:

EagleOne716
12-13-2008, 16:42
13 viewings....and no idea?
This must be more complicated that I thought :upeyes:

aspartz
12-13-2008, 21:52
Here is the situation:
1. Running a computer under Windows 2000 Pro
2. Have a USB 2.0 card installed
3. Cable running from 2.0 card to a powered USB Port
4. When I run external CD burner...no problem.
5. When I insert a Kingston DataTraveler 2 GB into the powered hub, it says that there is not enough power to run it.
6. If I run any other USB thumb drive..no problems, just the Kingston.
Now....it gets better....
7. I plug a NON-powered USB port into the POWERED port....and the Kingston drive reads/writes with no problem.
THIS JUST DOES NOT MAKE SENSE....
Any suggestions????? Ideas????
Thanks...EAGLE :wavey:
It sounds like the powered hub is mis-reporting the amperage available at its downstream ports.
Back when wheels were square I knew how to check this on an os9 mac, os X and windows, i have no clue.

ARS

JimmyN
12-14-2008, 11:49
Your using Win2K Pro so do this:

Start>Settings>Control Panel
System>Hardware>Device Manager

Scroll to the bottom and click the '+' to expand "Universal Serial Bus Controllers. Or double click on controllers if you are using an icon Control Panel view

There you will see all USB devices listed, as well as the hubs.
Right click on any hub or device and select 'Properties' then the 'Power' tab.

On this computer I have 4 - USB Root Hubs shown in the list, those are on the motherboard. My external powered hub shows up as "Generic USB Hub"
Choosing 'Properties>Power' on this device shows the hub as self powered, and has 500mA available per port.
There are 4 ports available, one is in use using 96mA for a "USB Storage Device" which in this case is an external USB harddrive.

Maybe that will help you gather a little info on the problem......