Question about classroom space for Instructors [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question about classroom space for Instructors

NoSuchStudios
12-18-2008, 08:24
Hey All,

I'm an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor. I've just recently taken to formalizing a business around instruction and i'm trying (without much luck) to find an affordable training space for my students in the Northern Virginia area. I've taught classes at homes and ranges but i'd like to find a good place to hold larger classes that's a bit more comfortable and formal.

It seems everyone charges an arm and a leg...at least the locations i've found that rent conference rooms and the like.

Any help or ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks all.
NoSuch

Fungunner
12-18-2008, 09:52
The guy I took my CCW class with, does some of his classes at the local gun shows. In my particular case, it was at the Dale City VFW hall. They have a conference room on the side, which was big enough to accomodate the 10 or so people in our class, with extra room left over.

Maybe get in touch with the guy who is opening the new range in Woodbridge, perhaps you can work out some relationship with them. I also hear Guns and Ammo in Manassas has classrooms, with their expansion, maybe you could work out an arrangement with them.

Olivers_AR
12-18-2008, 10:10
The NRA site lists upcoming classes, so you might want to see what it takes to get on the list(s). They also has space at the NRA range, don't know how much it costs.

If you teaching a home defense or self defense class, where no firearms handling is involved, you might be able to use community centers/meeting rooms (Reston, Herndon, etc) space.

Depending on how your setting up the business model, being an independent instructor for ranges and using their facilites might be an option. Yes you'll give up part of the profit, but they have the space, advertising, and will collect the money/book classes. All you have to do is teach :cool: