Thunderbird help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Thunderbird help

Patricia
12-27-2008, 21:44
After getting extremely frustrated with Thunderbird's Forum, I thought I see if anyone has extensive experience with Thunderbird.

I have been using Thunderbird successfully for a couple of years. However, I have not received email through Thunderbird in the last couple of days. My email is coming through just fine on my internet providers webmail service however. I am using Windows Vista, and have not made any changes to settings. Vista did an update on the 25th (I have since changed the setting so that it won't do those automatically anymore), and that is when the problem started. A couple of other people posted the same problem, starting on the same day.

Any ideas? I'm sure the folks on the T-bird forum are trying to be helpful, but they keep asking me the same questions, and really don't seem to know much more about it than I do.

Neo31rex31
12-28-2008, 01:03
Do you run T-Bird portable (ie flash drive) or on your machine? Are you running any firewalls at all?

Blitzer
12-28-2008, 01:44
You may have to update Thunderbird to fix the problems.

Patricia
12-28-2008, 10:10
Do you run T-Bird portable (ie flash drive) or on your machine? Are you running any firewalls at all?

No flash, and I have now turned off the firewall, and this windows defender, and still no go.

This is frustrating. I'd rather not uninstall and reinstall Thunderbird, but I am beginning to think that is my only choice. I am also really disappointed in the Thunderbird support forum. I have gone there before and have received great help and answers, but this time I feel like no one is listening to my description, and only asking me questions that someone would ask of a computer beginner.

Nicky D
12-28-2008, 11:01