Cleaning -- What/Where/How? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning -- What/Where/How?

USMCsilver
02-10-2009, 15:03
So -- what should I clean on my camera? The front and back of lens? The little mirror that relfects to the eyepiece?

I'm a newbie, dunce, ignorant moron when it comes to this stuff.

What do I clean, and what do I clean it with? :dunno:

I'm just concerned about dust during lens changes and other environmental hazards.

MrsKitty
02-10-2009, 18:04
Don't worry about dust until you HAVE it. At some point you will get it. I don't know about Nikon but sometimes Canons have it right out of the box. Until you get it, don't poke around in there because you can get a clean sensor dirty that way.

The way to check for dust is to shoot either a white wall, white sheet of paper or the clear sky. Don't worry about focus. Expose correctly while stopping the lens down as far as you can (f/22, for example). Some say open the image in PS and do auto levels but I don't bother. You can see the spots if they are there.

While you are at it, shoot a few more frames and open up a little more each time. The dust will pretty much disappear when you open up. This is why a lot of people don't worry about sensor dust, depending on what they normally shoot. Some people are content to just clone it out when it shows.

The first line of defense to cleaning your sensor is to use a Gittos Rocket Blaster. It will get it 90% of the time. On a Canon, you make sure your battery has a good charge, select sensor cleaning, hold the body out so that the dust will fall down and out of the body, and give it a few puffs. Never use canned air or blow with your mouth. Spit obviously will muck it up while the propellant/liquid in canned air can hurt or even ruin your sensor.