Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Rate this Entry

The Software Problem

Posted 06-13-2012 at 21:18 by TheBelly

I don't have a hardware problem. My problem is completely encompassed by the software running the hardware.

Perhaps a brief primer as to my background is in order. I'm a Soldier, and currently I'm sitting on a medium sized FOB in Afghanistan. This is my fourth deployment since 2006. I don't have a combat arms job, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

So today's topic is all about how people here try and fix a software problem with hardware. When the Army said that Soldiers need to be able to engage targets from greater distance, the first reaction by the folks who implement such decisions was to put better optics in the hands of those who needed it. This is (essentially) how we got the ACOG, known in the US Army as the M150, Sight, bore optical.

Using either a red dot optic (the Army's ubiquitous M68 CCO) or plain old iron sights (the Mark 1 Eyeball), I've never had a problem engaging targets at the distances required to effectively take care of business. For many Soldiers the fix provided to them was the 4x32 ACOG. Therein lies the problem: the fix was provided to them. Just handed out as if it were the magical 'target engagement fairy.'