Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reloading (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Load Confirmation (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1164862)

Kentucky Shooter 12-31-2009 17:57

Load Confirmation

Please give me your opinion on this load for my 9mm Glocks. I have very little 9mm reloading experience.I have loaded up 50 rounds of these----based on a variety of manuals for reference.

9MM------124 grain FMJ bullet; 3.8 grains of bullseye; Federal 100 primer; bullet seated to an OAL cartridge length of 1.128".

Does anyone see any potential problems with this load? I hope to try them out over the weekend. Thanks for any input.

Boxerglocker 12-31-2009 18:40

Based on what Alliant has listed on thier website. I think it would be a relatively safe load to start. I would only load 5-10 at a time amd work up slowly with a chrono.

njl 12-31-2009 19:31

Is there a reason you're loading so short?

fredj338 12-31-2009 23:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boxerglocker (Post 14453224)
Based on what Alliant has listed on thier website. I think it would be a relatively safe load to start. I would only load 5-10 at a time amd work up slowly with a chrono.

I agree, load in small 10rd max groups, then go up or down 0.1gr for 10 more. Look for the sweet spot. IMO, your load is at or slightly below starting. You may not get reliable functioning. For semiuatos, I neve use starting data. Instead, use avg. middle data from 2-3 sources, then go up & down 0.1gr & work to find your accuracy. Your OAL is fine depending on your bullet. I rarely load 9mm much longer than 1.135".

Kentucky Shooter 01-01-2010 01:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by njl (Post 14453542)
Is there a reason you're loading so short?

No, not really. Just wanting some plinking loads-----if they prove to be too low powered to reliably function, I will bump the next batch up a bit.

Kentucky Shooter 01-01-2010 01:04

Quote: