Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Carry Issues (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Carry 24/7 or just when needed? (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1165499)

rbnfl 01-02-2010 14:05

Carry 24/7 or just when needed?

I was just curious if most of us carry 24/7 or just part time (when going to bad parts of town, or late at night). I'm guessing some leave it in their vehicle. I'm new and have my permit, but I'm still getting into the habit.

Moderator Note: I am bumping this to the top for new members. There are some good posts here.

Do note this is a January, 2010 thread. Lots of laws in the states mentioned have changed, so do not get all riled up if what is posted does not agree with 2014 laws in your state. OKAY??

Yes, it's a long thread. Please do read through it to make certain your comment or questions has not been made and addressed or answered before. If it needs an update, please do so!

Thanks,

RussP

G36Packer 01-02-2010 14:49

How does one know when it is going to be needed. To me carrying when and where legal, i.e. 24/7, is when needed.

I don't knowingly go to the bad parts of town, etc.

eXistenZ 01-02-2010 14:51

I don't cross my door pane unarmed, period.

Quote:

If you are a warrior who is legally authorized to carry a weapon and you step outside without that weapon, then you become a sheep, pretending that the bad man will not come today. No one can be “on” 24/7 for a lifetime. Everyone needs down time. But if you are authorized to carry a weapon, and you walk outside without it, just take a deep breath, and say this to yourself... “Baa.”
http://www.killology.com/sheep_dog.htm

BhamGlock 01-02-2010 14:51

24/7 and 365 days a year! I am never unarmed, not even in the shower! :whistling:

dnuggett 01-02-2010 14:54

OP- Define "when needed". Then really think about your response. It's a good exercise to go through as a license holder.