Glock Talk

Glock Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tech Talk (http://glocktalk.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Linux Gurus, need some help (http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=274913)

Alpha752 08-11-2004 10:31

Linux Gurus, need some help

Hello all, I have dual booted my XP box with Mandrake 10. I am a total noob with Linux, and am trying to learn the system. Trial by fire is the best way.

I am having trouble Installing Kernel-Source code. I need to do this to install some drivers for my wireless reciever (netgear ma111). The instructions I have are:
Installing Kernel-Source (required for driver installation):
2.Open the console and type:
a.“su” --> enter the root password.
b.“urpmq -r kernel-source”; this should display:
--> kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk
c.“urpm –i kernel-source-2.6.3-7mdk.rpm” – substitute if the disk used has a later version. Note: only the version shown has been tested.
d.“mkdir /usr/src/linux/.tmp_versions” --> note: driver installation will fail if this directory isn't created.

Everyting goes OK untill I hit C. I assume that urpm-i is a typo and he means urpmi. When I type that, it gives me an error (cant find file, or something like that, I cant remember exactly). I do have a diffrent kernel then the instructions above (2.4.25-2mdk).

Any suggestions for how to proceed? I appreciate anything you can offer.

Russ

Alpha752 08-11-2004 10:37

Also, I tried to install the kernel from inside the GUI (KDE), as suggested on another forum, and it asked for CD 4. I dont have a CD 4, only the 3 .iso's. ;P ;g ;1

HerrGlock 08-11-2004 10:39

Mandrake seems to have an rpm command that I'm not familiar with, but...

I assume you're using bash as a shell?

Type this (literally, dollar sign capital shell):
echo $SHELL

You should get back something like this:
/bin/bash