View Single Post
Old 07-06-2009, 16:10   #2
fearnutsnotguns
Chem Major
 
fearnutsnotguns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 89
From VA? don't pack your toys in MD

******** type=text/javascript>zSB(3,3)</SCRIPT>Sponsored Links

Search For Sex OffendersAre Sex Offenders Living In Your Neighborhood? Find Out Now - Free!FamilySafetyReport.com/Free-Search
How To Avoid BankruptcyFind Out In 60 Seconds If You Can Eliminate 70% Of Your Debt w/o a BKDebtRelief.us.com/bankruptcy
Wall Safes As Low As $59Guaranteed Low Prices On Wall Safes Free Shipping On All Orderswww.SafesEtc.com

******** type=text/javascript>zob();if(zs<1){gEI('spacer').className='hide';gEI('sidebar').className='hide';}</SCRIPT>Crime Ads Antique Gun Collector Laws for DUI Usury Laws Maryland Law Overtime Laws


(Continued from Page 1)

Possession

No permit is required to possess a rifle or shotgun.
Possession of a regulated firearm is prohibited by any person who:
  • Has been convicted of a disqualifying crime.
  • Has been convicted of a violation classified as a common law crime and received a term of imprisonment of more than two years.
  • Is a fugitive from justice.
  • Is a habitual drunkard.
  • Is addicted to a controlled substance or is a habitual user.
  • Suffers from a mental disorder and has a history of violent behavior against himself or another person, or has been confined for more than 30 consecutive days to a mental facility, unless the person possesses a physician’s certificate stating that the person is capable of possessing a regulated firearm without undue danger to the person or others (such a person is also prohibited from possessing a rifle or shotgun, unless the person possesses a physician’s certificate).
  • Is a respondent against whom a current non ex parte protective order has been entered under.
  • Is 30 years old or younger and has been adjudicated delinquent by a juvenile court for an act that would be a disqualifying crime if committed by an adult.
It is unlawful to possess, sell, offer for sale, transfer, receive, or transport into the State any “assault pistol.” Current owners may possess such a pistol if it was registered with the Secretary of the State Police before August 1, 1994. A law enforcement unit may seize as contraband and dispose of any assault pistol transported, sold, transferred, purchased, received, or possessed in the State.
The following semiautomatic pistols or their copies are "assault pistols":
  • AA Arms AP-9.
  • Bushmaster.
  • Claridge HI-Tec.
  • D-Max Industries.
  • Encom Mk-IV, MP-9, and MP-45.
  • H & K SP-89.
  • Holmes MP83.
  • Ingram MAC 10/11 and any variations, including Partisan Avenger and SWD Cobray.
  • Intratec TEC-9 and DC-9 (centerfire only).
  • P.A.W.S.
  • Skorpion.
  • Spectre.
  • Uzi.
  • Weaver Arms "Nighthawk".
  • Wilkinson Arms "Linda".
After June 1, 1994, it is unlawful to sell, offer for sale, purchase, receive, or transfer any detachable firearm magazine (except a tube magazine for a .22) that will hold more than 20 rounds. Possession is not prohibited.
Carrying and Transportation in Vehicles

Rifles and shotguns being transported in motor vehicles must be unloaded.
It is unlawful for any person without a permit to wear or carry a handgun, openly or concealed, upon or about his person.
It is also unlawful for any person to knowingly transport a handgun in any vehicle traveling on public roads, highways, waterways or airways, or upon roads or parking lots generally used by the public. This does not apply to any person wearing, carrying or transporting a handgun within the confines of real estate owned or leased by him, or on which he resides, or within the confines of a business establishment owned or leased by him.
A person may transport a handgun if they can demonstrate that the handgun is being carried, worn or transported:
  • To or from a place of legal purchase or sale, or repair shop.
  • Between a person’s bona fide residences, or between his residence and place of business, if the business is operated and substantially owned by that person.
  • While engaged in, or traveling to and from a target shoot, formal or informal target practice, sport shooting event, hunting, trapping, or dog obedience training class or show.
  • By a bona fide gun collector who is moving any part or all of his gun collection from place to place for public or private exhibition.
During transportation to and from the above places the handgun must be unloaded and carried in an enclosed case or enclosed holster. An additional penalty is provided for any person convicted of unlawfully wearing, carrying or transporting a handgun, if his deliberate purpose was to injure or kill another person.

Source: National Rifle Association of America, Institute for Legislative Action

Also: You can check out the MD State Police Web site and their safety primer course. I belive all the law says you can do is pass through the state with a locked firearm, away from minors and the ammo in another location of the vehicle.

Hope this helps. Enjoy the beach!<!--/gc-->
__________________
I was laying on the couch, watching a movie. My wife asked me "what's on the TV?" I said 'Dust.' ...and that's how the fight started!
fearnutsnotguns is offline   Reply With Quote