Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-05-2013, 00:30   #1
Eric2340
Infidel :)

Good working fixed blade?

Knife noob here -

I'm mainly only ever owned folders, looking to buy a GOOD fixed blade of decent size, but not looking to spend a fortune on it. Just want a good sized, "working knife" in a fixed blade. Something like the classic Ka-bar or so.

OR is that already the answer (a Ka-bar style knife) or something like the Glock knife? I already have one of the Glock knives I bought as a novelty, not a big fan of it's plastic sheath but that's easy enough to fix. Not to mention I was wondering if I was limited buy it's length and grip?

Recommendations? I'm NOT looking for a safe/display queen?

Thanks -
Old 01-05-2013, 00:56   #2
UtahIrishman
BLR

a classic Ka-bar will set you back about 60 bucks. Well worth it in my opinion. They're a strong knife.

I like the Glock Knife I have. It's quite utilitarian and strong...I've dug holes with it.

Cold Steel makes some nice fixed blades that are reasonable as well. Might check them out

----
UtahIrishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:20   #3
bdcochran

I read and reread the posting.

OP stated that he has a Glock knife already. He implies that he is not satisfied with the same. In that situation, he is best advised to obtain something else.

My mentor loves the Glock knife. As a former paratrooper, he sets up survival packs for his family. He wanted a digger that would be strapped outside a pack. He likes the Glock knife. However, he didn't like the grind and spent a considerable sum having his Glock knives reground to his satisfaction.

The two points are: 1. no one can make the decision what knife will be comfortable for a particular person; and 2. nothing is perfect.