GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2004, 22:42   #1
unit 900
Senior Member
 
unit 900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 1,238
Cannot open 'my computer'..help

My laptop just began doing 2 strange things. First, when I click on the 'my computer' icon on desktop or in Windows Explorer, I get the 'flashlight' searching for my drives indefinitely. I have to go to 'run' and enter the drive to see them. It's a workaround, but a pain. Second, when I have an open dialog box ( ie, saving a document), the system always freezes when I click the drop down arrow. This is truly a PIA and I am stumped. Virus scan done, Spyware Blaster, Spyware Guard and Adaware all installed and updated per the good advice of folks on GT. Any help greatly appreciated.
unit 900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2004, 04:17   #2
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,493


Run the hardware wizard again.

It sounds like you have a drive listed that doesn't exist or you do not have a drive listed that does. The system has to find or not find it before it comes back to you.

DanH
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 00:06   #3
fastvfr
Ancient Tech
 
fastvfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SW Oregon
Posts: 3,146
Send a message via Yahoo to fastvfr
A failing CR-R/RW/ROM or HDD will cause this, as will a newly (and improperly) installed drive.
fastvfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 00:15   #4
Jaltered
Gir with Glock
 
Jaltered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: East TX
Posts: 678
Send a message via AIM to Jaltered
Um....buy a Mac? ;Q
Jaltered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 01:57   #5
unit 900
Senior Member
 
unit 900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 1,238
Thanks, jaltered. You won me a $10 bet as I bet my son ( a computer engineer/java programmer) that some smarta** would say just that. Thanks all for the input.
unit 900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 04:24   #6
Blast
'nuff said
 
Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NKY/Cincinnati area
Posts: 20,952


Try CWShredder, you may have a coolwebsearch varient.
But run it in safe mode. If it is a varient, it will prevent CWShredder from running in normal mode.

Last edited by Blast; 08-01-2004 at 04:26..
Blast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 09:52   #7
Bronson7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Murray,Kentucky
Posts: 1,205
For some strange reason, I had this very same problem with my A drive after opening a faulty disc. I was only able to access the drive from the "run" feature. The A drive icon was missing in My Computer. I ran Restore and it fixed it.
Bronson7
Bronson7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 15:56   #8
Jaltered
Gir with Glock
 
Jaltered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: East TX
Posts: 678
Send a message via AIM to Jaltered
Glad I could help. Want to share with those that contributed to your winnings?
Jaltered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2004, 16:04   #9
HerrGlock
CLM Number 2
Scouts Out
 
HerrGlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 64,493


Unit 900's buying? GREAT!

When/where ;f
__________________
Sent from my rotary phone
"The way I see it as soon as a baby is born, he should be issued a banjo!"- Linus Van Pelt
UNIX - Not just for Vestal Virgins any more
HerrGlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 22:55   #10
unit 900
Senior Member
 
unit 900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Baltimore, Md
Posts: 1,238
I'm currently in Tokyo on business/visit. You guys pick out a nice bar in Gotanda and I'm there to buy all night. Also, I was able to get some help on this problem in Annoyances.org. Someone suggested that I disable WIA in msconfig. That actually worked, but I now have some problems seeing some images. That's better than the original problem by a long way. I posted a few digital pics from Tokyo here: http://www.photo.net/photodb/folder....lder_id=418111
unit 900 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 00:32.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 702
162 Members
540 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31