GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 12:27   #1
eaglefrq
NRA Member
 
eaglefrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,286
Anyone used CAD?

How difficult are the CAD programs to use? Is there an easier program that still produces the same results?

Thanks
__________________
You are free to choose, but you are not free from the consequence of your choice.
eaglefrq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 15:19   #2
Ragin Cajun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 999
Depends on what you plan to do.

I am in engineering and Auto CAD is near or at the top of the heap. There's Microstation but I personally don't think it compares - IMHO.

Nothing else will do since I MUST have seamless interface and interchange with clients and associates.

I have run Auto CAD since at least 1967 and without it I would not be in business. It ain't cheap but it's a cost of doing business.

Get training at your local technical school. It will be worth every penny. That's what I did.

RC
__________________
"I don't want you to go out there and die for your country.
I want you to make the other guy die for his country." Gen. Patton

Last edited by Ragin Cajun; 11-01-2012 at 15:20..
Ragin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 17:52   #3
robin303
Helicopter Nut
 
robin303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7,140
I have used http://www.smartdraw.com/ for years designing decks, remodel jobs, cabinets and all sorts of stuff. I still think you can download it free for a certain time. I liked it so much I bought it.
__________________
G19 RTF w/gills
G17 RTF w/gills
robin303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 19:14   #4
eaglefrq
NRA Member
 
eaglefrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,286
My boss called earlier and asked if I had ever worked with CAD. I have a business trip coming up and the big boss wanted me to take some measurements (I'm not sure for what) and then put them in CAD.

I told him I haven't used CAD before, but I would be willing to try. He said don't worry about it because the program is very expensive. That tells me that we don't have a copy of it yet.
__________________
You are free to choose, but you are not free from the consequence of your choice.
eaglefrq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 19:16   #5
crazycooter91
Roll Tide
 
crazycooter91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somewhere in north AL
Posts: 104
I am in school for drafting, what do you need to know about autocad?
crazycooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 19:39   #6
eaglefrq
NRA Member
 
eaglefrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazycooter91 View Post
I am in school for drafting, what do you need to know about autocad?
Just some general info...

Is it difficult to use? I usually pick up working with different programs fairly easily. I just don't want to assume it would be simple and my company buys the program and then I can't do anything with it.
__________________
You are free to choose, but you are not free from the consequence of your choice.
eaglefrq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 19:47   #7
Reswob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 1,691
AutoCAD is pretty difficult to just pick up and use with no instruction. Inventor is a much better program, and more intuitive, although if you're strictly doing architectural drawings CAD may be better in the long run.
Reswob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 21:42   #8
M1A Shooter
Senior Member
 
M1A Shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 3,596
Send a message via Yahoo to M1A Shooter
cad is easy enough but is much easier with a bit of practice using the text shortcuts. i use it fairly regularly. i do alot of sheetmetal design, circuitry and wiring diagrams on it.
__________________
"Only the dead have seen the end of war." - Plato
M1A Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 21:23   #9
Cadcom
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Great State of Georgia
Posts: 101
Take a look at Google Sketchup. Entry level and it's free. If you need more than that then there is always Autocad LT. It's gonna run you around $1000.00 U.S.
Cadcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 21:41   #10
eaglefrq
NRA Member
 
eaglefrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,286
Thanks for the answers and suggestions for alternate programs.
__________________
You are free to choose, but you are not free from the consequence of your choice.
eaglefrq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 22:41   #11
Hef
Stop Obammunism
 
Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hilton Head, SC
Posts: 5,244
I use Chief Architect X4 for residential and light commercial design, and for cabinets. It isn't hard but it takes a few years to become proficient. It does excellent 3D modeling and allows for the importation of SKP models and materials to customize your designs.
__________________
μολὼν λαβέ
Hef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:37   #12
R2D2
Senior Member
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 109
I have used MS Visio for over 10 years and it is perfect for doing floor plans, detail drawings, elevations, etc. I have worked with AutoCad in the past and found it to be one of the most un-intuitive programs ever designed, certainly it is not a program that you just install and use.

Visio has a trail version (60 day)

Here is the link

http://visio.microsoft.com/en-us/Try..._for_Free.aspx
R2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:21   #13
bchandler
Senior Member
 
bchandler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,793
CAD is a generic acronym for Computer Aided Design. It does not mean AutoCAD. AutoCAD is one product out of hundreds, all of which help you do CAD.

I use Pro/Engineer every day at work, another leading CAD program. Some others are SolidWorks, NX, and Catia. Most companies will invest in only one product as their bread and butter CAD program, sometimes buying a few licenses of others for specialty work. These programs are quite complicated and take years to become fully proficient with. I know senior engineers who have been using Pro/E their whole careers, since it came out, and they still learn new features constantly.

Honestly if you just have to make a quick model for your boss and this will not be your full time job, and you are not an engineer who needs the precision, try Google Sketchup. It is free, super easy to use, and you can get an OK model out of it.
bchandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 13:23   #14
md2lgyk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: WV
Posts: 2,984
There are a couple of free programs that are fairly comprehensive and compatible with AutoCAD. They were mentioned on a computer forum I visit a couple of days ago. Try a Google search and I'll try to resurrect the names.

I taught myself AutoCAD, but Sketchup is incomprehensible to me. Go figure.
__________________
"The great object is, that every man be armed. Everyone who is able may have a gun." - Patrick Henry

Last edited by md2lgyk; 11-03-2012 at 13:26..
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:38   #15
havensal
CLM Number 216
Nozzle Jockey
 
havensal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Western, NY
Posts: 4,482
Give draftsight a try. This CAD package is put out by Dysault Systems, the makers of Solidworks. It's the only 2D software I have used in a couple of years. Very similar to AutoCAD, at least the last version of AutoCAD I have used. There may be some tutorials out there that would get you proficient enough to impress your boss. Did I mention it's free?
__________________
RTN Bodyguard Club #034 "FearMyLaserLytes"
havensal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 13:42   #16
crazycooter91
Roll Tide
 
crazycooter91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Somewhere in north AL
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by eaglefrq View Post
Just some general info...

Is it difficult to use? I usually pick up working with different programs fairly easily. I just don't want to assume it would be simple and my company buys the program and then I can't do anything with it.

It is simple with a little practice and instruction but it would be fairly complicated to someone just picking up the program and trying to teach themselves.
crazycooter91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:24   #17
eaglefrq
NRA Member
 
eaglefrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,286
Thanks everyone for their suggestions on programs to use. I will discuss this with my boss today to see what he wants to do.
__________________
You are free to choose, but you are not free from the consequence of your choice.
eaglefrq is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 19:34   #18
joe0121
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 48
Google Sketchup.
joe0121 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 952
251 Members
701 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31