Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 13:40   #1
Big Dog Dad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: S.W. Pa
Posts: 308
Reset BIOS question????

I'm not sure what happened, but my wife's PC running XP recently had a massive crash and I think the BIOS needs reset. My question is if I reset it to factory default will I loose anything in the way of applications, hardware drivers, etc. This PC is so old, I don't have a lot of the original disks to reload everything and I'm about ready to put a 45 through it mainly because I'm tired of hearing her whining and moaning. She uses it mainly for e-mail, word processing and silly games. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, is there anything I should know if I go into safe mode on startup?

-=BDD=-
__________________
NRA Life Member
"Some People Are Like Slinkies. They're Not Really Good For Anything, But They Bring a Smile To Your Face When Pushed Down The Stairs."
Big Dog Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 14:44   #2
CigarandScotch
Fartacus
 
CigarandScotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cackalacky
Posts: 506
What do you mean by "resetting the BIOS?"...are you talking about reformatting your hard drive or actually FLASHING the BIOS? If you don't know, you probably shouldn't try either...
__________________
My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.~ Thomas Jefferson
CigarandScotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 15:36   #3
joe0121
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by CigarandScotch View Post
What do you mean by "resetting the BIOS?"...are you talking about reformatting your hard drive or actually FLASHING the BIOS? If you don't know, you probably shouldn't try either...
I tend to agree. If you have a video camera video the monitor as you press the power button. This will allow us to watch the POST and see what the issue may be.
__________________
USMC 2002-2007 OIF1, OIF3
Glock 22
joe0121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 15:54   #4
rednoved
NRA Member
 
rednoved's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,432
What makes you think the BIOS is the issue?
rednoved is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 19:17   #5
Big Dog Dad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: S.W. Pa
Posts: 308
I meant flashing the BIOS...

I've thought that BIOS might be the issue with the loss of my E: drive, low virtual memory error, out of memory error in Word and a few other applications. Will it do any harm to "flash" the BIOS during a reboot or do you have any suggestions? I'll take a few pics during bootup if you think that will help. Like I said, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

-=BDD=-
__________________
NRA Life Member
"Some People Are Like Slinkies. They're Not Really Good For Anything, But They Bring a Smile To Your Face When Pushed Down The Stairs."
Big Dog Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 20:06   #6
srhoades
Senior Member
 
srhoades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,593
Flashing the BIOS will not fix your problem. Sounds like you had a failed hard drive and and you have insufficient RAM, hence the virtual memory errors. Too many programs loading at startup can also cause that.
__________________
Let's see. You drive a Ford, you drink crap beer, you quote Hitler, and you haven't had sex in years. Nope, ain't taking your advice. - BALIFF
srhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 23:17   #7
Detectorist
Senior Member
 
Detectorist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 8,244
Without getting into your REAL computer issues...I would never, unless it's an emergency critical fix, flash the BIOS.

Are you actually talking about System Restore?

What do you see on the screen when it boots up?

What brand/model computer do you have?

If you haven't done so already, disconnect everything from the computer except the mouse, keyboard, screen, power plug and restart it.
__________________
NASM-Certified Personal Trainer

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place. George Bernard Shaw

Last edited by Detectorist; 11-17-2012 at 23:21..
Detectorist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 19:25   #8
soulxfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Bios reset will not resolve your issue, if its low on virtual memory. Try cleaning up C drive and remove programs that start automatically. Use "autoruns" utility from sysinternals.com , its easy to use.

Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
soulxfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:15   #9
stevemc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 482
Try replacing the ram. It's easy and you aren't going to blow up your settings. BIOS is not your issue.
stevemc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:46   #10
IndyGunFreak
KO Windows
 
IndyGunFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 30,330
Send a message via ICQ to IndyGunFreak Send a message via AIM to IndyGunFreak Send a message via MSN to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Yahoo to IndyGunFreak Send a message via Skype™ to IndyGunFreak


I guess I'll ask.. How much RAM does the machine have?
__________________
Quote:
Ronald Reagan
"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under."
"Man is not free unless Government is limited"
IndyGunFreak is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 19:55.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,432
418 Members
1,014 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,672
Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31