Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 03-30-2009, 14:34   #1
SFLglock

How well is my computer protected?

I have had a Dell Precision m90 for 2 years and want to make sure i can keep it running as long as possible. I have had antivirus 09 but beleave i got ride of it.

I currently use the following programs.

Mcafee anti virus (i know alot of people dont like it but it seems to be ok plus i have a subscription until 2010)

Spybot S&D

and Malwarebytes

i also have Ccleaner and i do disk defrags about twice a month.

Is there any other programs i need to download to keep my computer running good?

Thanks for the help
SFLglock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 18:57   #2
Big Al 24

Maybe Firefox with the NoScript add-on. What are you using for a firewall?
Big Al 24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 19:01   #3
PaulMichael

My wife uses AVG on her computer and it does a good job. It will always warn you with the slightest threat, even a low risk cookie installation. She had Norton, but insisted they really messed up her computer.

I use my computer less and less these days. I start by blocking all cookies on privacy and the highest level for download security. If a site requires cookies, I generally don't use it. You might be surprised how many sites you can access with these highest settings. I have all but stopped using yahoo email and find I don't even miss it. This web site requires it, but that is a small exception.
PaulMichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 20:06   #4
SFLglock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Al 24 View Post
Maybe Firefox with the NoScript add-on. What are you using for a firewall?
Dont make fun of me but im not sure what firewall i have but when i go to mcafee security center it says my firewall is turned on, thats all i know

Last edited by SFLglock; 03-30-2009 at 20:10..
Old 03-30-2009, 20:13   #5
SFLglock