GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 02:48   #1
Blast
'nuff said
 
Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NKY/Cincinnati area
Posts: 20,388


Pc100 & pc133 ram

What's the difference?
I have two computers, systems are 300mhz, Win98SE... and 700mhz, Win2000PRO. Both have 256mb RAM with two sticks 128mb PC100 each.
I have a stick of 256mb PC133 that I got from a discarded computer.
I first tried it in Win98 comp. and it worked with no problem but only gave 128mb giving me 384 total. Then I tried it alone in the Win98 and still only got 128mb.
I did the same procedure on the Win2000 comp. with the same results. I don't understand why, but even by itself, it only gives 128mb on both computers.
But anyway, should I go ahead and use it, or could it cause problems down the road being that it is a different type?
__________________
A man should look for what is, and not for what he thinks should be - Albert Einstein
Blast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:15   #2
AmbulanceMonkee
Medic
 
AmbulanceMonkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On a street corner
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to AmbulanceMonkee
The 100 vs 133 refers to the speed of the ram. If you put 133 in a system with 100, it SHOULD just down clock, and run everything at 100, and all SHOULD be well. Without getting into manually setting the speed, and timing, etc., I'll say that it sounds like either that stick of ram is bad, or neither motherboard is capable of more than a 128mb stick. If you're feeling ambitious, you could check the specs for your model of board.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by volsbear
He's focusing on your wallet. If you act quick, you can focus on separating his aorta from his heart.
AmbulanceMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:23   #3
Blast
'nuff said
 
Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NKY/Cincinnati area
Posts: 20,388


Quote:
Originally Posted by AmbulanceMonkee View Post
The 100 vs 133 refers to the speed of the ram. If you put 133 in a system with 100, it SHOULD just down clock, and run everything at 100, and all SHOULD be well. Without getting into manually setting the speed, and timing, etc., I'll say that it sounds like either that stick of ram is bad, or neither motherboard is capable of more than a 128mb stick. If you're feeling ambitious, you could check the specs for your model of board.
Thanks. I'll give it some thought. I may just go ahead and use it. I'm not using it now, but I have used it for a few days with no issues. It was free so what the hell.
__________________
A man should look for what is, and not for what he thinks should be - Albert Einstein
Blast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 03:29   #4
AmbulanceMonkee
Medic
 
AmbulanceMonkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On a street corner
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to AmbulanceMonkee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blast View Post
Thanks. I'll give it some thought. I may just go ahead and use it. I'm not using it now, but I have used it for a few days with no issues. It was free so what the hell.
As long as the system is stable with it in there, I'd use it. An extra 256mb would be ideal, but 128mb is better than nothing. I'd definitely run memtest, in DOS, anytime I put in used ram, though, just to be sure. I personally like the memtest on the ubuntu install cd, and it's free to download.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by volsbear
He's focusing on your wallet. If you act quick, you can focus on separating his aorta from his heart.
AmbulanceMonkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 01:55   #5
aspartz
Senior Member
 
aspartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sandstone, MN 55072
Posts: 5,924
The problem may be the density of the memory. Some older MBs cannot support "high" density memory. A 16Mx8 double sided stick will work, while a 32Mx8 single sided stick will only be seen as a 16Mx8 (128MB) one. In many cases the high density memory will not work at all.

ARS
__________________
"When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying the cross." - Unknown
"Government is not reason, it is not eloquence, it is force" - George Washington
aspartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 02:13   #6
Blast
'nuff said
 
Blast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NKY/Cincinnati area
Posts: 20,388


I went ahead and installed the stick giving me 384mb RAM with the two 128 sticks already in. Works fine, no issues, is stable.
__________________
A man should look for what is, and not for what he thinks should be - Albert Einstein
Blast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 14:11   #7
manish07
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
I think its working with good speed if we take 133 ram
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
manish07 is offline   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 808
163 Members
645 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42