GlockTalk.com
Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups



  
SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

 
  
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 14:42   #1
Jeffrey.M.Torres
Version 3.0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 643
FAIL = Asus PC900 XP + D-link DIR-615

I have a D-Link router (DIR-615) and just purchased an ASUS PC900 notebook that runs on XP.

The computer recognizes my wireless network but does not connect.

XP has only asked for the network name (SSID) and network security key.

Should there be someplace where I enter the router username and password?

What about the IP address?

I've connected two laptops to the network in the past but I used the installation CD for both.

In this case the laptop doesn't have a disc drive.
Thanks in advance.
Jeffrey.M.Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 14:48   #2
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey.M.Torres View Post
I have a D-Link router (DIR-615) and just purchased an ASUS PC900 notebook that runs on XP.

The computer recognizes my wireless network but does not connect.

XP has only asked for the network name (SSID) and network security key.

Should there be someplace where I enter the router username and password?

What about the IP address?

I've connected two laptops to the network in the past but I used the installation CD for both.

In this case the laptop doesn't have a disc drive.
Thanks in advance.
When you were asked for the SSID and key that should have connected you to your LAN.


You do not need to enter the router user name and password unless you are entering the router configuration page.


The router will supply an IP address.

You don't need to use any CD to connect any laptop to the router.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 15:12   #3
Jeffrey.M.Torres
Version 3.0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 643
I see the DIR series is designed for Vista, might this mean it has issues with XP?

Can I just transfer network settings from a connected laptop to this new one with a flash drive.
Jeffrey.M.Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 15:35   #4
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey.M.Torres View Post
I see the DIR series is designed for Vista, might this mean it has issues with XP?

Can I just transfer network settings from a connected laptop to this new one with a flash drive.
What settings? There is nothing to transfer ...

Can you get to the Internet on the computer?

If you are trying to connect to other computers they must all be members of the same work group.

Disable the firewall on the problem computer, reboot and then see if you can connect.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 16:02   #5
Jeffrey.M.Torres
Version 3.0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 643
I just reset my router hopefully that simplifies things.
Jeffrey.M.Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 18:30   #6
Jeffrey.M.Torres
Version 3.0
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wahiawa, HI
Posts: 643
Oh, wow.

Evidently, my issue was using SHIFT to capitalize characters in my key rather than using the CAPS LOCK button.

-thanks again for the help!
Jeffrey.M.Torres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 18:45   #7
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey.M.Torres View Post
Oh, wow.

Evidently, my issue was using SHIFT to capitalize characters in my key rather than using the CAPS LOCK button.

-thanks again for the help!
That should not have made a difference, but as long as it's working that's all that matters.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 14:17   #8
manish07
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
You have download latest version of this software.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 signatures.
manish07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 14:37   #9
Sgt. Schultz
Annoying Member
 
Sgt. Schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Posts: 2,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by manish07 View Post
You have download latest version of this software.
Again ... no software is necessary to connect a computer to a router, wireless or otherwise.
__________________
Sgt. Schultz

"I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass ... and I'm all out of bubble gum"
Sgt. Schultz is online now   Reply With Quote

 
  
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 18:23.




Homepage
FAQ
Forums
Calendar
Advertise
Gallery
GT Wiki
GT Blogs
Social Groups
Classifieds


Users Currently Online: 1,302
388 Members
914 Guests

Most users ever online: 2,244
Nov 11, 2013 at 16:42