Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 10-09-2009, 12:13   #1
vafish

I just shot a Unicorn!

Well almost, it's not white.

Hunting, Fishing & Camping

here's the story:

Got up this morning at 0500, it was raining when I went to bed so I wasn't real enthused about hunting. But I stepped outside and the weather was cool and clear, the ground was dry. So I grabbed the crossbow and my pack, jumped in the jeep and headed over to a little suburban oasis I hunt on.

About 1/2 way there I realized I had forgot to put the Hitch haul on the back of the jeep. I thought about turning around to go back and get it, but I figured that would put me in the woods too late.

Got to the property, got up in the stand and was all settled about 1/2 hour before sunrise. Then the waiting began. I've been hunting this property for the last 4 years, only one time have I not seen a deer on it. Well the house past and at about 8:30 I was thinking about giving up and going home. But for some reason I decided to pull out my GPS and play with the Hunt/Fish predictions. 0255-0455 was supposed to have been excellent hunting, then excellent again later that evening when I couldn't be hunting. But what's this, "Good" hunting from 8:30-10:30. I looked at my watch again and figured what the heck I'll sit a while longer.

After another half hour of only seeing 1 squirrel and feeling the urge to take a biological break I looked around once more, and "What the Heck?" there was a doe standing in some shadows about 25-30 yards away. She was in some thick brush, I stayed as motionless as possible. She took a step forward into a patch of sunshine and I realized "She" was a He. I could only see the one antler curving up along the ear.