Home Forums Classifieds Blogs Today's Posts Search Social Groups

SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 12-01-2009, 00:14   #1
jethro21

Got a Rock Island GI

I sold the boat anchor impluse buy AMT I bought a few months ago and bought a RIA on black friday, no sales tax. I had gone to check it out about 2 times before deciding to buy it.

I am very impressed at this gun. I am not experienced in 1911's, but since getting bit by the bug I have been going to every gun shop around and handling their 1911's. I gotta say that for a <$500 gun I am pretty impressed. The fit is tight, the action is very smooth and I can't find any machine marks on it.

I put 50 rounds through it today (can't find ammo anywhere) and it didn't so much as hiccup. It was only ball ammo, but from the reviews I have read I am not worried about hollow point. The trigger has a slight up and down play, not sure if this is normal/acceptable or not....?

The sights are friggen small, and it shot high consistantly. I am planning on changing the sights when I get some funds.

The only odd thing was the slide wouldn't lock back for my Wilson mags. It functioned perfectly with the factory mag and with a Colt mag, but it refused to lock back with the Wilson, whether when shooting or hand cycling.....Not sure if anyone has any thoughts on why.

Anyway, we will see if my small purchase pans out in a couple thousand rounds, although with ammo scarce that may take a long while (I guess it is time to start reloading again).

Just wanted to let anyone looking for a cheap 1911 my early thoughts on this gun.

Jethro
jethro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 00:34   #2
HAIL CAESAR

The trigger play is fine and normal, especially for a $400 gun.

It should feed HP's fine.

Wilson mags may have weakened springs.

RIA is a great bargain gun.
HAIL CAESAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 05:35   #3
bac1023

Congrats.

Mine has fed FMJ and JHP with no problems.