SIGN-UP
Notices

Glock Talk
Welcome To The Glock Talk Forums.

Old 01-04-2010, 16:48   #1
Range Rat

Brass Deflector

Hi Friends,
I am new to the AR-15 world, bought a Rock River Arms NM4 for competition. Took it out to the range to try it out and it sure flings brass quite a ways. Bought a Brass Deflector and it's on it's way. Just wondering if there any negatives about using a brass deflector on an AR-15 that I should know about.
Thanks in advance.
Range Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 17:02   #2
Jon_R
Silver Membership

What do you want it to do?

The only time I used one was in Army Basic Training. I am left handed and they gave me one. I don't think it was needed and I don't use one on any of my own ARs. When I was going through basic we had brand new M16A2s that have a brass deflector built in on the upper receiver. The basic class before us I assume used A1s that don't have the bump so for lefties the deflector was probably needed to keep brass coming back at their nose.

The ones I used in the army snapped into the hole on the carry handle. If you have a flat top It would need to mount on the rail I assume.
Jon_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 17:19   #3
phonejack

how to shorten the throw

when i shot ar's i cut 3 coils off of the ejector spring. most of the thrown cases shot from the prone position could be reached without moving off of the mat. works for m1a and garand also.
phonejack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 18:48   #4
USMC03Grunt